International Poetry Day

I had no idea such a thing existed. I mean, it’s also National Forest Day, and next month – April- gets to be National Poetry Month, so this came as a surprise. Turns out, this day is sponsored by Julius Meinl Coffee, based in Vienna, but with cafes in 23 countries all over the world. If you choose to visit one of them, then today, March 21st, you can exchange a poem for a cup of coffee. That’s right: you write, they give you a free coffee. Unfortunately, the only Meinl Cafe is in Chicago, but I wrote you a ditty anyway. If you’d like to buy me a coffee sometime, let’s make a date. šŸ˜‰

I know not why the cold wind blows
Or why the dog at five to six this morning rose
Instead of the agreed ‘pon hour
I know not why the cat sits in the shower
Or why this morning doesn’t feel like spring
Though outside loudly cardinals and juncos sing
I know not where the squirrel’s off to in the trees
As I observe from underneath my fleece
But even if the morning’s dull and gray
And the cardinal is actually a jay
(and doesn’t really sing as much as squawk,
while I believe the squirrel’s hiding from the hawk)
I’m staying comfy on my sofa bed
With dogs (one whining), husband and damp cat
And if you’re wondering why I had all this to say:
Well, it’s because
It’s International Poetry Day!

Leave a Reply

