Sickbed Savior

I awoke as the Sun King today

Burning to claim my throne

Brighter than a thousand suns

Ready to set the bush ablaze

My heart fairly racing from the effort,

I collapse, feverish and shaking,

Into your arms

Instantly repelled by

Your stifling warmth and relentless humidity

 

But my parched soul yearns for the comfort that

My incited body seeks to deny me

So I pant myself into

The safety and shelter of your embrace

Scorching your linen skin

With the heat issuing from my traitorous flesh

 

You bear the onslaught calmly,

Your breath a cool breeze on my face

Your hand the soothing conqueror of inflammation

To rest in you

Is to have my troubles vanquished

 

You, my darling you

Leave a Reply

