A Green Clean

We are in the process of making our household greener: nowadays, I only buy unscented, uncolored detergents and household cleaners from environmentally friendly brands. Still, I can’t help but wonder if it’s not possible to go a step further. For example, my oven is currently a cakey mess. Normally, we would purchase some oven cleaner and spray the hell out of the nasty thing. Of course, that’s just a lovely foamy pile of chemicals. So, I went looking. What else is the internet there for, right? And found, to my great delight, a huge depository of easy-to-make, easy-to-use solutions, using ingredients I already have in my pantry!

This site alone has a wealth of recipes, though I would not use the one containing bleach. Kind of defeats the purpose, plus I wouldn’t want my oven to stink like that! A whole assortment of household cleaners can be found here. You’ll notice that a good many of them feature baking soda, the ingredient with hidden talents (yes, it’s not just for deodorizing your fridge anymore!). My favorite way of using it is to sprinkle it on the carpet before vacuuming. Now I can do my pushups down there without having to “enjoy” the scent of sweaty dog feet… 😉

I also dry my cold wash in the critter room, which has the added benefit of acting like a humidifier in there.

Tell me: do you have tips to greenify your life? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

