The Road Ahead

So it’s roads again today, is it… well, to stick with the motif, I have -just five minutes ago- completed my journey through the 30 Day Challenge! In the process, I’ve gained balance, strength and flexibility, and lost five pounds. Overall, I feel fitter and tighter, and apparently, you can see that, too. πŸ™‚ I am more conscious of what I eat and make an effort to drink more water throughout the day. Along the way, I have indeed have fun and enjoyed the workouts, so much so that I’m not only ready for more, I crave it! But more on that in a minute…

My pet peeves about the EA Sports Active Personal Trainer remain the same: I think the workouts overall are too short – my last two before today were less than 20 minutes, and not at increased difficulty! There is no support for the resistance band, meaning if it breaks, you’re sh*t out of luck. Since there are no modifications of the exercises for less fit people, you have to find your own. My chair is my friend during those lunges…

The positive points definitely win out, though. This is a solid program, even if you take a selection from the menu of available workouts instead of doing the Challenge. It doesn’t require lots of equipment and is easy to learn. For people who find the nunchuck cables a bit, well, restrictive, there’s good news, too: towards the end of the year, EA Sports is releasing an all-new program with wireless sensors! You can bet I’m looking forward to that!!

So, where do we go from here? Easy. The EA Sports Active More Workouts DVD has already arrived in the mail, and the settings for the -gulp!- 60 Day Challenge have been established. I’m sticking to medium intensity, but will see how the program incorporates the Wii Balance Board. And in about two weeks, I’m going to seriously up my cardio with the six week 5K training plan I found in Fitness Magazine. We’ll talk about how that goes in a month or so. πŸ˜€

You will also be able to find me on the Daily Mile online. Please visit me there or on Facebook and send me a cheer every now and again…

Leave a Reply

