Please, Mr. Postman

When I was a teenager, I used to write a lot of letters. Yes, Virginia, the kind you handwrite with a pen and real paper, the kind that requires a stamp and takes days to get anywhere. I loved it. My oodles of penpals provided me with lots of great entertainment and information. The suspense until the next letter arrived nearly killed you, but the excitement of finding a letter in the mailbox was fantastic. This was back in the day when people used telephones to make phone calls, not write short text messages, and if you weren’t near a landline, you were shit out of luck (or out of reach). Then came emails, and both the letters and the calls kind of dwindled. Now, with Twitter and Facebook and what not, the emails are starting to disappear. It’s kind of sad, really. So, I would like to propose a bloxperiment: send me a postcard from wherever you are, and I will send you one back. Easy-peasy, no volumes of scribbling required. If you’re interested in participating, email me for details: vyvienn(at)gmail(dot)com.

Leave a Reply

