At Wit’s End

I’m at the end of my rope. Louie’s been getting antibiotics for over two weeks now, with no sign of the infection improving. His breathing is labored most of the time due to his nose being full of gunk that of course he cannot blow out and I can’t wipe out. On Friday, I was sure he wouldn’t see Sunday, and now I wonder if he’ll make it till tomorrow. He had a very brief moment of recovery yesterday morning, but was worse again by nightfall. He’s not eating so I’m feeding him, but he’s so weak.

We’ve done the heat lamp, we’ve done inhalation, I’ve given him vitamins and honeopathic drops to support the antibiotics, and yet, here he is, lying in my lap, not moving much at all, sounding awful, his little feet tiny hot spots on my thigh.

Leave a Reply

